Local Government



Municipal Council

Elected Officials 

Arnthor Jonasson


Email:  AJonasson@rmofwestinterlake.com 

Portfolio: Ex officio on all Committees, WI Planning District, IERHA-RHCTF


John Bezemer

Deputy Reeve

Email:  Bezemer@rmofwestinterlake.com

Portfolio:  Protective Services,  Transportation,  Health & Safety (alternate),  Ashern Waste Disposal Grounds,

Other Committees: Cemetery, Lake MB Flood Rehabilitation,  WI Conservation District, Ashern & District Vet Services


Paul Murphy 

Deputy Reeve (alternate)

Email:  Murphy@rmofwestinterlake.com

Portfolio: Finance, Personnel & Policy,  Protective Services,  Transportation, Utility,  Asset Management,   Economic Development (alternate)

Other Committees:  Cemetery, CEWDG, Eriksdale CDC (alternate), Lake MB Flood Rehabilitation, Lakeshore Recreation, WI Planning District,  WI Handivan, Lakeshore Handivan


Lyle Finney


Email:  Finney@rmofwestinterlake.com

Portfolio:  Protective Services (alternate),  Transportation,  Ashern Waste Disposal Grounds,  Economic Development 

Other Committees: Lake MB Flood Rehabilitation (alternate), Fieldstone Ventures, WI Conservation District,  Parkland Regional Library (alternate), Ashern & District Vet Services


Clayton Gibson


Email: Gibson@rmofwestinterlake.com

Portfolio: Finance, Personnel & Policy, Transportation (alternate), Utility, Ashern Waste Disposal Grounds (alternate),  Asset Management, Economic Development 

Other Committees: CEWDG, Eriksdale CDC,  Community Futures, Lakeshore Recreation (alternate),  WI Planning District (alternate), WI Handivan, Lakeshore Handivan


Randy Helgason 


Email: Helgason@rmofwestinterlake.com  

Portfolio:  Personnel & Policy (alternate), Utility (alternate), Ashern Waste Disposal Grounds

Other Committees: Ashern LUD, Fieldstone Ventures (alternate)


Penny-Anne Wainwright


Email:  Wainwright@rmofwestinterlake.com

Portfolio:  Personnel & Policy,  Health & Safety, Asset Management (alternate),  Economic Development

Other Committees:  CEWDG (alternate), Eriksdale CDC, Interlake Tourism, WI Conservation District, Parkland Regional Library, Lundar Veterinary Services, Weed Control Board, IERHA-RHCTF


Trevor Emilson


LUD Committee Member /Ashern

Email:  Emilson@rmofwestinterlake.com

Dylan Geisler

LUD Committee Member /Ashern

Email:  Geisler@rmofwestinterlake.com

Stefan Jonasson

LUD Committee Member / Ashern

Email:  SJonasson@rmofwestinterlake.com  


Council Meetings

Effective as of March 24, 2020; Regular Meetings of council shall be held every third Tuesday, in the council Chambers of the Rural Municipality of West Interlake at the hour of 9:00am.  Regular meetings shall alternate between the Ashern Council Chambers, #38 Main Street, Ashern MB  and the Eriksdale Council Chambers, #10 Main Street, Eriksdale MB of the West Interlake Municipal Offices.

LUD Meetings are held on the third Thursday of each month commencing at 5:00 pm at the Ashern Council Chambers, #38 Main Street, Ashern MB of the West Interlake Municipal Office.


Want to stay up to date with the RM of West Interlake?   Sign Up Here: